Jarama, Spain

Squeezed into a narrow, triangular patch of land outside the capital Madrid, Jarama hosted Spain’s round of the world championship on nine occasions.

Advert | Become a Supporter & go ad-free

Designed by John Hugenholz, the track was very tight and slow by the standards of the time. Past motorsport greats such as Fangio and Farina leant their names to a series of sharp corners.

The circuit initially shared the Spanish Grand Prix with Barcelona’ picturesque and spectacular Montjuich Park street course – a different challenge entirely. But that proved too dangerous, and from 1976 Jarama took over.

The 1980 race had the unfortunate distinction of being relegated to a non-points round following a dispute between the sport’s governing body, FISA, and the constructors aligned to Bernie Ecclestone’s Formula 1 Constructors’ Association. Alan Jones won, but Ferrari, Renault and Alfa Romeo stayed away, and no points were awarded.

Jarama’s final race was a classic. Jones skidded out early on and Gilles Villeneuve took up the lead in his ill-handling Ferrari. A queue of better-handling cars formed behind him, unable to pass the turbocharged Ferrari down the straight, and Villeneuve led a quintet covered by just 1.2 seconds across the line when the chequered flag fell on Jarama’s last F1 race.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free